One of those days

Today Chris was sick with an icky tummy. This past week Chris had mountains of schoolwork that meant even when he was home, he was holed up planning, grading and doing other paperwork. I’ve been feeling a little crummy for a few weeks, and a little extra crummy for the last few days. And of course, I’m set to have a baby in a few short weeks, so my back aches, sleep is elusive at night and calling to me all day, I’m emotional and just a plain old sinner.

So today had some things stacked against it. Somehow, I’ve made myself believe that Saturdays are a “day off” for me. Ridiculous, I know. Maybe it’s a holdover from my career days. That doesn’t mean that on any given Saturday you can find me sleeping past 7:30 or spending much time on myself, but my mindset is different than it is during the week. Since Chris is usually home and usually available (or I’ll know about it beforehand if he won’t be), I find my inner mommy receding a bit and let daddy take over with J as much as possible.

This morning when I found Chris curled up on the couch and heard his groans of discomfort, a bitter seed started to grow in my heart. When Chris didn’t get any better throughout the morning, the seed sprouted, took root and grew into a healthy weed. I was frustrated that my expectations of rest and self-directed time had disappeared in a tummy ache. I was mad at Jonathan for being a needy toddler who wanted my attention. I was angry at Chris for choosing this Saturday to get sick. I was disappointed with myself for being upset with my son and bitter towards my husband.

I am so grateful that my Father never gets bitter and angry toward me for my neediness or my inability. Today I needed his grace to parent and his ability to love my husband. Today, each time that I raised my voice at Jonathan or thought something ill-intentioned towards Chris, I felt conviction of my sin and was reminded that I cannot reflect God’s glory without Christ and the Holy Spirit. Sometimes I think God gives me days like this to bring me to my knees and to make me rely on him. Praise God for his infinite wisdom, and especially for his infinite faithfulness.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One of those days

  1. Leanne says:

    Sarah, we all have days like this! It is our human nature! You have such a strong faith for being able to turn toward God when you feel like this, though. That doesn’t go unnoticed by anyone!! Thanks for posting this. It is nice to read how others struggle through their days sometimes, too.

  2. acloserpeek says:

    Thanks, Leanne. It really is our human nature, isn’t it? The good news is that we don’t have to do it alone!

  3. Terra Mynhier says:

    I completely understand that Sarah! I feel the same way if “something” comes up on a Saturday that interferes with Matt’s ability to takeover the girls and let me get my rest. I think that it’s just natural. I always feel bad that I feel that way, too, though. Good to know I’m not the only one that struggles with this! Love you guys…

Leave a Reply

