Bring on the Fat Pumpkin Muffins

If your baby doesn’t eat much and has a BMI of less than 15, you might be like me, wondering how on earth to fatten them up! Our pediatrician recommended giving Nora supplements to help her gain weight, but that backfired. As soon as I gave her the supplement drink, she cut down on solids. Yeah, probably not going to work.

So I decided to give her what she wants. If she eats nothing else, Nora is always interested in sweet things. I was a good mom with J. He didn’t know what sugar was until well after a year old. But Nora’s always been a bantam weight, and I’m a pushover, so she’s had plenty of samples of quick breads, muffins and even a bit of cookie now and then. I’ll deal with the sugar addiction consequences later. For now I just want her to bulk up!

Have you ever come across a high fat recipe? Um, yeah, I haven’t either. I mean, there are definitely less healthy options out there, but I wanted something that was unapologetically high-fat and high-calorie. To that end, I modified an existing recipe to add some rolls to my baby.

20130111-102848.jpg

High Fat Pumpkin Muffins
2 eggs
1/4 c heavy whipping cream
1/2 c melted coconut oil
1 c pumpkin
3/4 c brown sugar
1/2 c flaked or shredded coconut
1/2 t each nutmeg, cinnamon & allspice
1/2 t salt
1 t baking soda
1 1/2 c whole wheat flour

Combine all wet ingredients in bowl of electric mixer or large mixing bowl. Using mixer on low speed, blend until smooth. Add sugar and coconut and mix until well combined. Add spices, salt and soda to bowl, beating until thoroughly mixed. Add flour all at once and stir with mixer or spoon until just combined. Batter will be thick, but if you think it’s too thick, add some more whipping cream or milk to thin it out, being careful not to over mix.

Fill greased or lined muffin tin evenly about 2/3 full. Bake in 350 degree oven until centers are set and a toothpick comes out clean, 15-18 minutes. Remove from tin and allow to cool on a wire rack.

Total calories and fat: 2,840 & 162g. That’s right, 236 calories and 13.5 grams of fat per muffin. Mama needs to stay away from these! I gave them to Nora right after they cooled and she ate one and a half. Oh yeah, baby.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bring on the Fat Pumpkin Muffins

  1. Francine says:

    If you don’t want the high fat kind, maybe change the qwhipping cream to yogurt?

    • acloserpeek says:

      Yes, the original recipe called for olive oil instead of coconut, omitted coconut flakes and had water instead of whipping cream. So if you don’t like high fat, make those modifications. I think it’s good to add fresh cranberries to any pumpkin muffin, and if I was making the recipe for myself, I would probably make it the skinny way and add the berries.

Leave a Reply

