The Mighty Thor

Though Jonathan has never seen a superhero movie and has no idea what a superhero really is, it wasn’t hard to sell him on a superhero costume. He was invited to a themed birthday and of course needed to dress up. But, as I am who I am, I couldn’t just go out and buy a costume. No, no. Mama needed to make him one.

20130205-061414.jpg

Not much of a super-anything buff myself, I put the boy before the hero. Jonathan loves hitting things. So who should he be but the Mighty Thor? I’ve seen the Avengers, I totally know who that guy is. He hits things!

20130205-061426.jpg

So with an unused grey turtleneck, some shiny stuff and some thread, a set of Thor armor was born. I’m sure it’s not “authentic” or whatever, but J digs it. The cape is removable thanks to the wonder of hook-and-loop, so if he’s not feeling as Mighty or as super, he can tone his look down a bit.

Now for the Hammer. I knew that if I handed anything that resembled a weapon to my son, it would be used as such. I used some 4″ foam (that I had previously cut into cubes with the intention of covering with fabric or knitting and never got around to), and hot glued a 5/8″ dowel rod between two cubes.

20130205-061448.jpg

I cut a piece of my shiny fabric to fit around each side except the bottom (three long sides plus two short sides, sort of like a big rectangle with the corners cut out), and then cut out two bottom pieces that measured 4″x8″. I sewed the big piece to fit over the hammer, attached the bottom pieces then cut a hole out for the dowel rod. I secured the bottom silver pieces with hot glue, hoping it wouldn’t fall apart.

20130205-061455.jpg
Showing me his hammer and the one we made for the birthday boy.

To keep the dowel rod handle from being used as a torture device on any unsuspecting bad guys, I encased it in some foam tubing (like pipe wrap) and then hot-glued some quilted brown fabric on, folding the side seam and the bottom over so no raw edges were showing. To finish I wrapped some embroidery thread (I know, leather cording would have been soooo much cooler) around the handle and secured with hot glue.

Now J can destroy bad guys or fight daddy with abandon and no one gets hurt.

20130205-061440.jpg
Even superheroes play with pipe cleaners.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

